Masterworks 1: Season Debut – The Firebird

Saturday, Sep 27, 2014 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Sep 28, 2014 2:30pm Buy Tickets

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Downtown Des Moines)

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Nareh Arghamanyan, piano

RIMSKY -KORSAKOV Procession of the Nobles
PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1 “Classical”

Joseph Giunta and the Orchestra open the 77th season with a riveting and celebratory all-Russian program featuring Stravinsky’s colorful and powerful Firebird, which depicts in music the timeless tale of a majestic and enchanted bird. Armenian pianist Nareh Arghamanyan, known for her “thrilling” and “fluid” interpretations, makes her Des Moines Symphony debut in her countryman’s riveting Piano Concerto, a brilliant, extroverted work of bold expression.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$55 and are available through Ticketmaster (up until two hours prior to performances) and the Civic Center Ticket Office (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines; open 9a-5p Monday through Friday and two hours prior to performances). Student tickets are $7.50-$27.50 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office.

Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Stoner Theater.

Traffic notice: Please note that due to a water main break at the corner of Third & Locust Streets, one lane of Locust Street near the Civic Center is closed. In addition, due to construction on Cowles Commons, one lane of Third Street just west of the Civic Center is also closed.

Saturday ticket holders: Oktoberfest festivities will also be taking place in downtown Des Moines Saturday evening. Please allow for extra time in traveling to the Civic Center.

Valet parking: Valet parking is available for all Des Moines Symphony concerts for $15 (cash, day of concert). Vehicle drop-off location is on the west side of the Des Moines Civic Center, southbound on Third Street.


AUDIO: Experience the excitement of The Firebird with this radio spot!
PROGRAM NOTES: Learn more about the pieces on this program.
PLAN YOUR VISIT: Learn about where to dine, where to park and more.

Joseph Giunta’s suggested recordings:

  • RIMSKY -KORSAKOV Procession of the Nobles: Scottish National Orchestra; Neeme Jarvi, conducting; Chandos.
  • KHACHATURIAN Piano Concerto: London Philharmonic; Annette Servadei, piano; Joseph Giunta, conducting; Hyperion.
  • PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1 “Classical”: Berlin Philharmonic; Herbert von Karajan, conducting; Deutsche Grammophon.
  • STRAVINSKY The Firebird: Boston Symphony Orchestra; Erich Leinsdorf conducting; RCA Red Seal.
View all Concerts and Events