Masterworks 4: Nadja Plays Mendelssohn

Saturday, Feb 23, 2013 7:30 pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Feb 24, 2013 2:30 pm Buy Tickets

Civic Center of Greater Des Moines

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, violin

WAGNER  Music from Die Meistersinger*
MENDELSSOHN  Violin Concerto*
FRANCK  Symphony in D Minor*

Read the concert review!

Internationally acclaimed Avery Fisher Prize-winner Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg is known for her fearless and electrifying interpretations and is revered as one of classical music’s most sought-after celebrities. At Joseph Giunta’s invitation, she returns to the Des Moines Symphony to perform Mendelssohn’s soaring Violin Concerto for a special 75th Anniversary Season event, featuring an entire program of works performed in the Orchestra’s very first season. Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the East Lobby.

*Performed in the first (1937) Drake/Des Moines Symphony season.

Tickets start at just $15 for adults and $7.50 for students and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office and Ticketmaster.

View all Concerts and Events