Masterworks 5: Chopin Piano Concerto

Presenting Sponsor

The Healthcare Circle

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Mar 29, 2015 2:30pm Buy Tickets

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Downtown Des Moines)

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Jia Cheng Xiong, piano

LISZT Les Préludes
CHOPIN Piano Concerto No. 2

Joseph Giunta has invited his latest discovery, the eighteen-year-old award-winning Chinese pianist Jia Cheng Xiong, to make his Iowa debut in Chopin’s passionate and virtuosic Second Piano Concerto. Of the Chopin, Liszt wrote that it is “of a perfection almost ideal…” The program opens with the most popular of Liszt’s symphonic poems, the majestic Les Préludes. And finally, Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 6 – one of the composer’s most revered works – concludes with the full majestic force of the Orchestra in the powerful Presto finale. Experience it …. LIVE!

This program is presented by The Healthcare Circle.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$55 and are available through Ticketmaster (up until two hours prior to performances) and the Civic Center Ticket Office (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines; open 9a-5p Monday through Friday and two hours prior to performances). Student tickets are $7.50-$27.50 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office.

Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Stoner Theater.

The duration of these concerts is approximately two hours and ten minutes, which includes a 20-minute intermission.

PLAN YOUR VISIT: Discover where to dine, where to park and more.
AUDIO: Experience the excitement of these concerts with this radio spot!
LEARN MORE: Discover more about the concerts with our program notes.
MEET OUR MUSICIANS: Meet and mingle with our musicians after our Saturday evening concert at Coda After the Concert!

Joseph Giunta’s suggested recordings:

  • LISZT Les Préludes:  Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra; Kurt Masur, conducting; EMI.
  • CHOPIN Piano Concerto No. 2:  Montreal Symphony Orchestra; Martha Argerich, piano; Charles Dutoit, conducting; EMI.
  • SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 6: Concertgebouw Orchestra; Bernard Haitink, conducting; Decca.


Please note that Mozart’s Symphony No. 35 “Haffner” is no longer on this program.

View all Concerts and Events