2017-2018 Masterworks Concerts

Saturday, Sep 23, 2017 7:30pm
Sunday, Sep 24, 2017 2:30pm
Program

WEBER  Invitation to the Dance

BRUCH  Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor

RACHMANINOFF  Symphonic Dances

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Jennifer Frautschi, violin

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Oct 21, 2017 7:30pm
Sunday, Oct 22, 2017 2:30pm
Program

WAGNER  Overture to Tannhäuser
R. STRAUSS  Death and Transfiguration
TCHAIKOVSKY  Music from Swan Lake

Joseph Giunta, conducting

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Nov 18, 2017 7:30pm
Sunday, Nov 19, 2017 2:30pm
Program

RAVEL  Alborada del gracioso

RODRIGO  Concierto de Aranjuez                                                  

FALLA  El amor brujo (Love, the Magician)

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Feb 10, 2018 7:30pm
Sunday, Feb 11, 2018 2:30pm
Program

ELGAR  In the South

SIBELIUS  Violin Concerto in D Minor

STRAVINSKY  Petrouchka

Christopher Seaman, guest conducting
Simone Porter, violin

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA)

Saturday, Mar 24, 2018 7:30pm
Sunday, Mar 25, 2018 2:30pm
Program

Augusta Reed THOMAS  (2018) World Premiere: Music From the Heartland Commission

BEETHOVEN  Piano Concerto No. 1

BEETHOVEN  Symphony No. 7

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA)

Saturday, Apr 28, 2018 7:30pm
Sunday, Apr 29, 2018 2:30pm
Program

ELGAR  Enigma Variations

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Beyond the Score – In Collaboration with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Gerard McBurney, Creative Director

Martha Gilmer, Executive Producer

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, May 19, 2018 7:30pm
Sunday, May 20, 2018 2:30pm
Program

J. STRAUSS, Jr.  Voices of Spring Waltz

SHOSTAKOVICH  Piano Concerto No. 2

GERSHWIN  Rhapsody in Blue

RAVEL  La Valse

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Charlie Albright, piano

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)