2017-2018 Masterworks Concerts

Saturday, Sep 23, 2017 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Sep 24, 2017 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

WEBER  Invitation to the Dance

BRUCH  Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor

RACHMANINOFF  Symphonic Dances

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Jennifer Frautschi, violin

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Oct 21, 2017 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Oct 22, 2017 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

WAGNER  Overture to Tannhäuser
R. STRAUSS  Death and Transfiguration
TCHAIKOVSKY  Music from Swan Lake

Joseph Giunta, conducting

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Nov 18, 2017 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Nov 19, 2017 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

RAVEL  Alborada del gracioso

RODRIGO  Concierto de Aranjuez                                                  

FALLA  El amor brujo (Love, the Magician)

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Jose Luis de la Paz, guitar
Argentina Lopez, mezzo-soprano
Siudy Flamenco Dance Theater

 

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, Feb 10, 2018 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Feb 11, 2018 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

ELGAR  In the South

SIBELIUS  Violin Concerto in D Minor

STRAVINSKY  Petrouchka

Christopher Seaman, guest conducting
Simone Porter, violin

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA)

Saturday, Mar 24, 2018 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Mar 25, 2018 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

Augusta Read THOMAS  BRIO for Orchestra (2018 World Premiere)

BEETHOVEN  Piano Concerto No. 1

BEETHOVEN  Symphony No. 7

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA)

Saturday, Apr 28, 2018 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, Apr 29, 2018 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

ELGAR  Enigma Variations

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Beyond the Score – In Collaboration with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Gerard McBurney, Creative Director

Martha Gilmer, Executive Producer

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)

Saturday, May 19, 2018 7:30pm Buy Tickets
Sunday, May 20, 2018 2:30pm Buy Tickets
Program

J. STRAUSS, Jr.  Voices of Spring Waltz

SHOSTAKOVICH  Piano Concerto No. 2

GERSHWIN  Rhapsody in Blue

RAVEL  La Valse

Joseph Giunta, conducting
Charlie Albright, piano

Location

Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines)