Masterworks 7: Season Finale – The Firebird

Saturday, May 9, 2020 7:30pm Buy TicketsSubscribe
Sunday, May 10, 2020 2:30pm Buy TicketsSubscribe

GLINKA  Overture to Russlan & Ludmilla

TCHAIKOVSKY  Piano Concerto No. 1

KHACHATURIAN  Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia from Spartacus

STRAVINSKY  The Firebird Suite

Joseph Giuntaconducting

Alessio Baxpiano


Des Moines Civic Center (221 Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA)

From the rollicking Overture to Russlan & Ludmilla to the riveting Firebird, the Des Moines Symphony’s Season Finale will have you at the edge of your seat! Experience the romantic thrill of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto played by virtuoso Alessio Bax, then, Khachaturian’s enchanting Adagio from Spartacus will enthrall you with its exquisite melodies. Finally – the colorful, evocative tale of the Firebird will raise the rafters of the Civic Center, bringing the season to a dazzling finish.

Tickets: Single tickets are $15-$70 and are available through Des Moines Performing Arts. Please note single ticket prices are subject to a $5 increase on the day of the concert, excluding student rush tickets.

Student tickets are $7.50-$35 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office. One ticket sold per valid Student ID.

The Des Moines Symphony welcomes children five years and older to attend performances. Children of any age are welcome to attend youth and family concerts. All children, regardless of age, must have their own ticket to attend performances.

PLAN YOUR VISIT: Discover where to dine, where to park and more.

LEARN MORE: Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Prairie Meadows (East) Lobby.

View all Concerts and Events