Des Moines Symphony Association announces new board members

August 8, 2013

Joseph Giunta, Music Director & Conductor
Richard L. Early, Executive Director
The Temple for Performing Arts● 1011 Locust Street, Suite 200 ● Des Moines, IA 50309


Date: August 8, 2013

Contact: Sophia Ahmad, Director of Marketing & Public Relations ● 515.280.4000, ext. 4011 ●


DES MOINES  – The Des Moines Symphony Association is pleased to announce its new Board of Trustees members for the 2013-14 season:  Dr. Douglas B. Dorner, Becky Gibson, Scott F. Meister, Wayne E. Reames, Angela R. Sanders and Dr. Rebecca D. Shaw.

Dr. Douglas B. Dorner has practiced as a vascular surgeon in Des Moines for 31 years and, since 1994, has served as Senior Vice President of Medical Education and Research at UnityPoint Health – Des Moines. From 2000 to 2007, he also served as Program Director of the Surgery Residency at Iowa Methodist Medical Center.

Dr. Dorner graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from Amherst College in Amherst, Massachusetts, and received his Medical Degree from Harvard Medical School. He is an Adjunct Clinical Professor of Surgery at the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine, a member of many surgical and medical education organizations, and a past president of the Midwest Surgical Association. Dr. Dorner currently serves on the Governor’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Advisory Council. In 2008, he was honored by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education with their “Courage to Lead” Award  as a national leader in residency education.

Becky Gibson is a seasoned professional with more than 23 years of experience in the banking industry. As Vice President, Senior Relationship Manager, she is a key member of the Wells Fargo commercial banking group.

Ms. Gibson received her bachelor’s degree in finance from the University of Iowa and is a graduate of the Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute. She is a co-chairperson of the Outreach Committee at her church, is an active volunteer with the Women’s Leadership Connection through the United Way of Central Iowa and is a former board member of the Neighborhood Finance Corporation.

Scott F. Meister is a CPA. He joined Brooks Lodden, P.C. in 2001, following the merger with Weber, Steele & Co., L.L.P.  He is currently a supervisor with the firm and works with closely-held businesses and their owners and individuals, primarily in the various areas of taxation.

Mr. Meister graduated from Morningside College with Bachelor of Arts degrees in accounting and finance. He is a member of the American Institute of CPAs, Iowa Society of CPAs, Altoona Area Chamber of Commerce and Mitchellviille Chamber of Commerce.

Wayne E. Reames is a shareholder at Belin McCormick whose practice emphasizes taxation, tax controversy, trusts and estates, nonprofit organizations and charitable giving, and corporate law. He has been recognized by Chambers and Partners for his corporate practice.

Mr. Reames’ practice includes advising clients regarding their business transactions, estate planning, tax planning and ERISA. With a background in economics and accounting, Wayne brings a multi-disciplinary approach to the practice of law. He is a certified public accountant in the State of Iowa and serves on the Executive Board of Winefest.

Angela R. Sanders is Senior Vice President and Controller with the Principal Financial Group. Ms. Sanders, a CPA, earned a BBA and MA in accounting from the University of Iowa. Volunteer activities include involvement with the United Way WLC Early Childhood Reading Initiative, Iowa College Foundation, Riverwalk Development Authority and Walk for Lupus Now.

Dr. Rebecca D. Shaw has been attending Des Moines Symphony Orchestra concerts for more than 25 years with her husband, Dr. Robert Shaw. She is a graduate of Luther College and University of Iowa College of Medicine and has been in private practice obstetrics and gynecology for 34 years, currently at UnityPoint Clinic. She will begin an academic position as assistant professor at Des Moines University in obstetrics and gynecology. She recently co-chaired the Des Moines Symphony’s 75th Anniversary Campaign and has a special appreciation for symphonic, orchestral, wind ensemble, keyboard and choral music.

The 2013-2014 Association Board of Trustees officers are as follows: Steven M. Nadel, Ahlers & Cooney PC:  President; Eugene T. Meyer, Greater Des Moines Partnership:  Vice President; Sharon Louis-Goldford: Secretary; Michael R. Hamilton: Treasurer; and Christine L. Hensley, Des Moines City Council: Immediate Past President. View the entire Board of Trustees listing at

The Des Moines Symphony Association Board of Directors provides strategic direction and ensures fiscal soundness, financial viability and the sustainability of the Symphony.

For more information, please contact Sophia S. Ahmad, Director of Marketing & Public Relations at or at 515.280.4000, ext. 4011.

The Des Moines Symphony is a not-for-profit professional orchestra formed in 1937 to enrich, educate and entertain the community by performing great orchestral music. The Symphony Association, governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees and operating on an annual  budget of more than $2.5 million, supports the Symphony Academy of Music and its numerous education programs including three youth orchestras, and supports the Des Moines Symphony Orchestra which performs seven pairs of Masterworks concerts, the traditional pops performance on New Year’s Eve, education, outreach and family concerts,  and other special events in its home at the Civic Center of Greater Des Moines. The Des Moines Symphony also produces and performs the annual Yankee Doodle Pops concert in July on the grounds of the Iowa State Capitol, which this year attracted more than 100,000, the largest single day attendance of any concert event in the State. -DMSO-