• Ticket Price
    Students Half Price
  • Duration
    2hrs 10min
    One intermission
The Firebird

The Firebird

Grammy-nominated pianist Joyce Yang returns in a program featuring Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody and Stravinsky’s dazzling, colorful Firebird.

Grammy-nominated pianist Joyce Yang returns to Des Moines in a brilliant showcase of stunning moments and orchestral thrills. The concert begins with William Bolcom’s raucous Ragomania, then Ms. Yang performs Rachmaninoff’s ravishing, virtuosic Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. The program continues with the elegant Symphony No. 2, written in 1775 by the first known classical composer of African ancestry, Saint-Georges. Finally – the colorful, evocative tale of the Firebird will raise the rafters of the Civic Center, bringing the concert to a dazzling finish.


  • William BOLCOM Ragomania Listen
  • RACHMANINOFF Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini Listen
  • SAINT-GEORGES Symphony No. 2 Listen
  • STRAVINSKY The Firebird Suite Listen


  • Joseph Giunta Conductor Bio
  • Joyce Yang Piano Bio

Learn More

Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Prairie Meadows (East) Lobby.


Single tickets for this concert will go on sale Monday, August 1, 2022. 

Single tickets are $15-$70 and are available through Des Moines Performing Arts. Please note single ticket prices are subject to a $5 increase on the day of the concert, excluding student rush tickets.

Student tickets are $7.50-$35 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office. One ticket sold per valid Student ID.

Reserve your seats now - subscribe to our Masterworks Series and get your tickets before they go on sale to the general public.