• Ticket Price
    Students half-price
  • Duration
    2hrs 10min
    One intermission
The "Triple" & Tchaikovsky 4

The "Triple" & Tchaikovsky 4

Tchaikovsky’s dramatic Fourth Symphony – plus, Symphony Principals Jonathan and Julie Sturm are featured in Beethoven’s “Triple” Concerto

Beethoven’s “Triple” Concerto features the intertwining melodies of Concertmaster Jonathan Sturm and Principal Cellist Julie Sturm along with pianist Nicholas Roth. Tchaikovsky’s blazing Fourth Symphony, composed in direct response to Beethoven’s Fifth. His battles with fate are vividly realized in dreamlike, lyrical passages punctuated with cosmic joy and dramatic spectacle.


  • BEETHOVEN Egmont Overture Listen
  • BEETHOVEN Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C Major; “Triple” Listen
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4 Listen


  • Joseph Giunta Conductor Bio
  • Jonathan Sturm Violin Bio
  • Julie Sturm Cello Bio
  • Nicholas Roth Piano Bio

Learn More

Concert Prelude Talks begin 45 minutes prior to each Masterworks concert in the Prairie Meadows (East) Lobby.


Single tickets for this concert will go on sale in fall 2020. 

Single tickets are $15-$70 and are available through Des Moines Performing Arts. Please note single ticket prices are subject to a $5 increase on the day of the concert, excluding student rush tickets.

Student tickets are $7.50-$35 and are available through the Civic Center Ticket Office. Student rush tickets, subject to availability, are $5 for junior high and high school students and $10 for all other students the day of the concert through the Civic Center Ticket Office. One ticket sold per valid Student ID.

Reserve your seats now - subscribe to our Masterworks Series and get your tickets before they go on sale to the general public.