• Ticket Price
  • Duration
    1 hr
  • Sunday, April 11, 2021 7:00PM — Online
Live Premiere: Jonathan Sturm

Live Premiere: Jonathan Sturm

Join Concertmaster Jonathan Sturm for the premiere of a new recital featuring an evening of works for violin, viola, and piano by women and African American composers. 

"The selections on this evening’s recital culminate a long-standing desire of mine to break with my past traditions featuring traditional European music and to feature important repertoire for violin, viola, and piano by women and African American composers," says Dr. Sturm. "I hope you will agree that these pieces are powerful musical statements, with great structural and musical integrity, and that they should hold a place alongside the best music of their time by any composer."

The program includes the music of Rebecca Clarke and Amy Beach as well as William Grant Still, one of this country’s most respected African-American composers in the classical tradition. Dr. Sturm will perform with Iowa State University senior and pianist Michael Banwarth.

RSVP for the Facebook event to be notified when we go live. You can watch the concert on our Facebook and YouTube pages, or right on our website! The link will go live at 7PM on Sunday, April 11.

Download the concert program here.


  • CLARKE Sonata for Viola and Piano
  • STILL Suite for Violin and Piano
  • CHENEY BEACH Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op. 34
  • KREISLER Viennese Rhapsodic Fantasietta


  • Jonathan Sturm Violin Bio